安全交易

互聯網已經成為全球商品和服務的市場。為了這個網絡市場能夠繁榮,購物者在傳遞信用卡信息和其他財政信息時必須有安全感。因為數據在網絡上傳輸的同時會經過許多電腦,同時也為中間截取保密信息提供了機會。

這怎麼可能會影響到您呢?假設您想要在網店購物,如果您提供了您的信用卡號,您怎麼知道它會安全地從您的電腦傳到終點呢?由於網上交易具有巨大的商業潛力,商家已經投入了許多時間和金錢以保障數據的安全。

如何運作

通過使用加密技術來保護數據。加密軟件通過密碼來拼湊數據,從而使數據在傳輸的過程中沒有人能利用它們。當數據到達目的地後,同樣的軟件可譯出密碼。當您發現在您的網絡瀏覽器的下端或地址欄旁邊有一個小鎖圖標,意味著您的數據在傳輸時是加密的。

大部分黑客的真正目標是公司和政府的計算機系統。他們通過建立防火牆來保護他們的系統,防火牆是設置在內部電腦和網絡之間的一道額外的軟件安全隔層。現在,幾乎所有的個人電腦也都安裝了防火牆。例如,Windows XP和Vista操作系統已經嵌入防火牆。如果您的電腦沒有防火牆,我們建議您立即安裝一個。您可以在 ZoneAlarm 免費下載一個。

網上購物

當進行網上商品交易時,考慮最多的就是獲取最大程度上的安全。現在,任何人都可以在網上樹立專業形象,所以請務必與有信譽的公司進行交易。如何確定這些公司是有信譽的呢?以下提供了幾點線索:

  • 這是一個已有零售商店的網站嗎?
  • 該網站有具體的街道地址嗎?不僅僅是郵箱地址。
  • 有聯繫客戶服務的方式嗎?
  • 設置了返還和退款的政策嗎?

所有的在線財務交易應該是安全的。許多在線商店都有眾所周知的安全付賬網頁,您可能在該網站上看到有關此信息的佈告。換而言之,您可能在您的網絡瀏覽器上看到一個小鎖標志,表明該網站使用安全技術。而且,檢查您的瀏覽器上地址欄中所輸入的網址,應該以https開始,字母“s”表明該網頁是安全。

如果您對提供敏感信息感到不安全,許多網站提供了電話號碼,您可以致電該網站告知您的信用卡號,儘管如此這種方式也不能完全保證安全。根據國家消費者聯盟統計,大部分互聯網欺騙行為涉及使用支票或匯票。該組織建議用信用卡支付,因為您可以和您的銀行爭論欺詐性收費。

網上交易的風險比我們在任何其他平台做生意的風險都要嚴重。現在,在網上交易相對比較安全,仍然有許多公司致力於開發和完善必需的科技以使網絡更加安全可靠。

Better Business Bureau logo商業促進局

商業促進局或BBB,是一個無偏見的非盈利組織,旨在通過建立和支持公正誠實的商務行為來幫助消費者和企業。具有BBB認証的企業通過訂立合同的方式認同並秉承該組織所推行的商務道德行為標準。

搜索具有該証章的公司,因為這意味著它們符合BBB認証標準,可以安全的和它們進行商務往來。如果您對任何公司和非盈利組織具有疑問,最簡單的辦法是登陸  www.bbb.org/us/bbb-accredited-businesses/,看看他們是否經BBB認証。

如果您覺得您受到一家公司的不公平對待,彼此觀點產生分歧時,BBB還為消費者和企業提供了控訴和爭論的解決支持,您可以訪問 odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/getstarted.aspx提出申訴。

Secure Transactions

The Internet has become a global marketplace for goods and services. For this online marketplace to prosper, shoppers must feel safe when transmitting credit card and other financial information. Because data traveling over the network passes through many computers along the way, the opportunity exists for someone to intercept confidential information.

How might this affect you? Let's say you want to buy merchandise from an online store. If you provide your credit card number, how do you know it will travel safely from your computer to its final destination? With the tremendous potential for doing business online, there's a lot of time and money being spent trying to make data protection secure.

How It Works

Data is secured with a technology called encryption. Encryption software scrambles the data with a secret code so that no one can make sense of it while it's being transmitted. When the data reaches its destination, the same software unscrambles the information. When you see a small lock icon at the bottom of your web browser or next to the address bar, it indicates that your data is encrypted during transmission.

The real targets of most hackers are corporate and government computers systems. They protect their systems by erecting a firewall, an extra layer of software security placed between their internal computers and the Internet. These days, almost all personal computers also have firewalls. For instance, Windows XP and Vista operating systems have them built in. If your computer doesn't have a firewall, we recommend installing one immediately. You can download ZoneAlarm for free.

Online Shopping

When dealing with online merchants, the best security is common sense. Anyone can establish a professional looking online store these days, so make sure you deal with reputable companies. How can you tell? The answers to these questions provide clues:

  • Is this the website of an established retailer?
  • Does the site have a street address, not just a post office (PO) box?
  • Is there a way to call customer service?
  • Is a return and refund policy posted?

All online financial transactions should be secure. Many online stores have what's known as a secure check-out page. You may see a notice to that effect posted on the site. Alternately, you may see a lock icon on your web browser, indicating that the site uses security technology. Also, check the address of the web page in the address bar of your browser; it should begin with https. The letter "s" indicates that the page is secure.

If you are uncomfortable transmitting sensitive information, many sites provide a phone number you can call to give your credit card number, although there is no guarantee that's secure either. According to the National Consumers League, most Internet fraud involves sending checks or money orders to merchants. The organization recommends paying by credit card, because fraudulent charges can be disputed with your bank.

The risks involved in transacting business on the Internet are no greater than those in any other arena in which we do business. While it is relatively safe to conduct business on the Internet right now, there are many companies working to develop and improve the technology required to make the Web even more secure.

Better Business Bureau logoBetter Business Bureau

The Better Business Bureau, or BBB, is an unbiased non-profit organization that helps consumers and businesses by setting and upholding high standards for fair and honest business behavior. Businesses that earn BBB accreditation contractually agree and adhere to the organization’s high standards of ethical business behavior.

Look for companies displaying this badge as it means they meet BBB accreditation standards and are safe to conduct business with. If you have questions about any company or non-profit group, it is always a good idea to search for them on the BBB site to see if they’re accredited. You can search for companies by visiting www.bbb.org/us/bbb-accredited-businesses/.

If you feel that you have been treated unfairly by a company BBB also offers complaint and dispute resolution support for consumers and businesses when there is difference in viewpoints. You can file a complaint by visiting odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/getstarted.aspx.