保護你的家人

您可能聽說過孩子和青少年因上網而遭受侵害的事件時有發生,有的是因為成年人的不良影響,還有的是因為他們瀏覽了黃色或暴力信息。鑒於每天有好幾百萬兒童使用網絡,按照這個比例,這些事件發生的頻率還是很低,但是它們的確會發生。

類似於MySpace.com這些吸引青少年的網站對於性侵犯者有很大的吸引力,他們嘗試像對待朋友一樣對待這些十多歲的孩子並安排親自見面。即時短訊也是成年人與孩子聯繫的另一種方式。

在網上雖然可以獲得一些不良內容,但是它們畢竟只是大量收藏信息的一部分。因為現在大部分網站明確張貼一些警告並要求訪問者進行登記、提供信用卡號碼來確認他們的年齡,所以孩子偶然發現這些不良信息的機會很小。但不幸的是,少許公開的事件暴露了網絡仍然是向成年人和兒童提供不良資源的事實——這就是為什麼上網成為當今世界上所有學校最優先考慮的事務的原因之。

以下提供了一些簡單的措施以保護您家人的網上安全 :

  1. 使用常識。不要讓您的孩子以上網就自由放縱。
  2. 再您的電腦上設置密碼。設置密碼後,您的孩子只有在您的監督下才能上網。
  3. 監督他們的行為。詢問他們所訪問的網站並給出理由。將電腦安裝在一個公共區域,這樣您能夠密切關注他們的行為。檢查網絡瀏覽器上的歷史文檔,看看他們訪問了哪些網站。
  4. 設置限制。完全由您決定孩子何時可以上網,以及可以上多長時間。
  5. 使用過濾軟件。 雖然軟件還不完善,但您可以鎖定選擇的網站,以下提供了一些產品以供參考:
  6. 要求您的孩子遵守一下規定:
    • 切勿在線或通過郵件透露信用卡號。
    • 切勿在未經您同意的條件下透露任何私人信息。其中包括在網頁上張貼個人數據和照片。
    • 如果他們遇到讓他們感到不妥的任何信息,應該立刻讓您知道。
    • 除非您在現場或同意的情況下,絕對不可以會見在網上結交的任何人。

Protecting your family

You may have heard stories about children and teenagers being exploited online, whether through unwanted overtures by adults or exposure to sexually oriented or violent material. Considering the tens of millions of kids who use the Web daily, the frequency with which these incidents occur is small. Yet they do happen.

Sites like MySpace.com that appeal to teenagers are a magnet for sexual predators who try to befriend teens and arrange to meet in person. Instant Messaging is another way that adults may initiate online contact with kids.

While it's true that inappropriate materials can be readily accessed over the Internet, this kind of content represents only a fraction of the vast collection of information online. The chances of a child accidentally stumbling across this inappropriate material are slim, as most sites now clearly post warnings and require visitors to register and provide credit card number to verify their age.

Unfortunately, a few high profile incidents obscure the fact that the Web also offers extraordinary resources for both adults and children – one reason why Internet access is a top priority for schools around the world.

Here are some simple steps to keeping your family safe online:

  1. Use common sense. Don't just connect your children to the Internet and turn them loose.
  2. Create a password for your computer. Set up a password to keep your child from accessing the Internet when you aren’t there to monitor.
  3. Monitor their activity. Ask them which sites they visit and why. Set up the computer in a common area so you can keep an eye on things. Check the Web browser's History file to see which sites they access.
  4. Set limits. It's up to you to determine when your kids can go online and how much time they spend.
  5. Use filtering software. Although not perfect, you can block selected websites. Here are some products to evaluate:
  6. Ask your kids to agree to these rules:
    • Don't give out a credit card number online or via e-mail.
    • Don't divulge any personal information without your approval. This includes posting personal data and photographs on a web page.
    • Make sure they let you know immediately if they encounter any material that makes them feel uncomfortable.
    • Never meet anyone they've communicated with online unless you are present or give your consent.