隱私

黑客的危險對個人來講很小,但這種威脅對於運營網站的公司的用戶私密性就比較嚴重。

許多網站都要求您在使用他們服務器之前先註冊。您通常必須提供個人信息,例如您的姓名、街道地址以及郵箱地址,然後您才能瀏覽網站。有關您訪問了哪些頁面、在一個頁面上呆多長時間、點擊了多少鏈接、搜索了哪些條款等,所有相關數據都會被收集起來。在訪問該網站多次之後,一個人檔案就形成了。問題是,這些網站操作員如何處理這些信息。

大部分網站聲稱,他們利用這些信息來個性化您的網絡體驗。例如:如果一個園丁網站“知道”您對傳統蔬菜感興趣,下次您再登陸這家網站時,您可能會看到一篇有關於稀有西紅柿的文章或廣告。許多網站將這些信息賣給市場營銷商人,意味著您可能發現自己收到一份從園藝工藝商那裡寄來的產品目錄。

隱私保護

許多網站現在開始在網上張貼他們的私密政策。在您透露任何私人信息之前,請閱讀這些政策,確保您同意。許多網站為了與第三方共享您的個人信息或向您發送郵件通知,專門尋求您的同意。這就是眾所周知的“決定參加”。"為了避免這些,電擊“No”按鈕。

跟踪服務文件

如果您不希望在未經您允許的條件下跟踪您的網絡瀏覽行為,請在您的網絡瀏覽器上設置,拒絕接收cookies(Cookie是當你訪問某個站點時,隨某個 HTML網頁發送到你的瀏覽器中的一小段信息。)一段cookie就是由網站在您電腦硬盤上所創建和安裝的一個小型文件夾,這些網站希望通過這種方式獲取您訪問網站的信息。您在瀏覽網頁的同時,信息也就儲存在您的cookie中。下次您再次訪問該網站,數據就會輸送至該網站。

隻有創建該cookie的網站才能閱讀,而且它不會進入您電腦上的其它文件。有時cookies也挺有用,例如它能儲存圖像,每次您登陸該網站時這些頁面會下載的更快。但是cookies也是具有侵略性的,因為它們經常是在未經您允許的條件下設置的。

使用Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0版本或更高版本可以控制cookies,進入工具欄,選擇Internet Options(英特網選項)。點擊Privacy(私密)菜單,然後選擇Medium(中等)設置來封鎖第三方cookies在未經您允許的條件下傳輸個人信息。記住點擊窗口底端的“Apply”(應用)按鈕,於是您的新的設置就生效了。

Privacy options in Internet Explorer

清除私人數據

您的瀏覽器可以儲存諸如密碼和瀏覽歷史等信息用來改善網絡瀏覽速度或自動提供信息,從而您就不需要重複輸入信息。但是如果您在清理電腦或使用公共電腦時,不希望留下任何有關您的個人信息,您應該想清除該信息。

使用Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0版本或更高版本可以清理個人數據,進入Tool(工具)菜單下的Internet Options(英特網選項),在General Tab(一般標簽)和Browsing History(瀏覽歷史)下選擇Delete(刪除)。

Clearing private data in Internet Explorer

以下您可以選擇清除從自己的電腦中清除您所保存的數據或您瀏覽的網頁信息。

Deleting browsing history in Internet Explorer

如果您在Mac系統上使用Safari瀏覽器,您可以打開私人瀏覽進入SafariPrivate Browsing。 


如果需要關閉私人瀏覽,再次點擊Private Browsing(私人瀏覽),並關閉您用來瀏覽私人信息的任何窗口。

Privacy

While the threat from hackers is low for individuals, a more serious threat to personal privacy comes from companies that operate websites.

Many sites require you to register before you can use their services. Often you must provide personal information, such as your name, street address, and e-mail address. Then as you browse the site, data is collected as to which pages you visit, how long you remain on each page, the links you click, which terms you search, and so on. After a number of visits to the site, a personal profile emerges. The question is, what do site operators do with this information?

Most claim that they use it to personalize your experience on the site. For instance, if a gardening site "learns" that you are interested in heirloom vegetables, the next time you visit the site you might be presented with an article or advertisements for rare tomatoes. But some websites sell this information to marketers, which means that you may find yourself receiving unwanted catalogs from garden suppliers.

Privacy Policies

Many sites now post their privacy policies online. Before you reveal any personal information, read the policy to make sure you agree with it. Some sites specifically seek your permission to share your personal data with third parties or to receive e-mail announcements. This is known as "opting in." To avoid this, opt out by checking the "No" box.

Cookies

If you don't want your web surfing behavior to be tracked without your consent, configure your web browser to reject cookies. A cookie is a small file that is created and installed on your computer's hard drive by a website that wants to collect information about your interaction with the site. As you browse through the site, information is stored in the cookie. The next time you return to the site, that data is transmitted to the site.

Only the site that created the cookie can read it, and it does not have access to other files on your computer. Cookies can be useful for things like storing images so pages will load faster each time you access the site. But cookies are invasive because they are normally set without your consent.

To control cookies when using Microsoft Internet Explorer version 6.0 or higher, go to the Tools menu and select Internet Options. Click the Privacy tab and then select the Medium setting to block third party cookies that transmit personally identifiable information without your consent. Remember to click “Apply” at the bottom of the window so your new settings will take effect.

Privacy options in Internet Explorer

Clearing Private Data

Your browser allows you to save information such as passwords and browsing history, which can improve web browsing speed or automatically provide information so you don't have to type it in over and over. But you might want to delete that information if you're cleaning up your computer or using a public computer and do not want any of your personal information to be left behind.

To clear any private data on Microsoft Internet Explorer version 6.0 or higher, go to Internet Options under the Tool menu. Under the General Tab and Browsing History select Delete.

Clearing private data in Internet Explorer

Here you will have the option to delete any data saved to your computer by you or by sites you visited.

Deleting browsing history in Internet Explorer

If you are using Safari on Mac you can turn on private browsing go to Safari and Private Browsing.

And to turn off private browsing simply click on Private Browsing again, and close any windows you've used to view private information.