网絡釣魚

如果您從銀行收到一份郵件,要求您登陸他們的網站並更新您的帳戶信息,您會怎麼做?這些信息看似真實——甚至含有銀行的標志。如果您夠精明,就不會照做。這看似合法的要求很有可能是出自一個想要得到您個人財務信息的網絡騙子之手。這種不道德的行為,就稱之為網絡釣魚。其意為詐騙信息,是一種以高科技手段釣您上鉤,暴露您的銀行帳號、密碼、信用卡號碼及密碼等其它敏感數據。這些騙子知道這些私人信息及您的身份後,就會導致您的錢款被盜

釣魚者通過冒充從知名並合法存在的公司,例如:PayPal, eBay, Citibank,和AOL向目的消費者發送郵件。請看下面一則我們接收到的信息:

Email with fake message from Paypal

親愛的PayPal用戶:

我們發現您的賬單更新已過期。如果能耽誤您5-10分鐘的時間更新一下您的賬單記錄,您將不會遇到在線服務問題。如果您不及時更新,我們將終止您的賬戶,請於9月8日之前更新您的記錄。

您更新了您的賬戶信息後,您的PayPal將不受干擾,並能繼續正常工作。如果您沒有更新,我們會將其視為違反服務條款併中斷服務。

請點擊此處更新您的支付寶記錄: 

Screen illustrating fake proported PayPal screen.

PayPal團隊

http://www.PayPal.com

雖然它很像由PayPal所發送的信息,並包括PayPal郵件抬頭,關鍵的區別是該鏈接不是進入PayPal的網站,而是由犯罪人所控制的假冒網站。請看下面標記的網址,它盜用了PayPal的地址,但事實上卻毫無關係com。

一旦您輸入了所需信息——包括信用卡到您的駕照號和您母親姓名——他們就能進入您的賬戶。同樣的詐騙可以通過任何財務網站施行,不管它們看起來有多像

 

避免魚網

現實世界中,您不會向任何人透露私人財務信息,所有在網上您也因如此。以下我們將告訴大家如何避免成為受害者:

  1. 請勿回復這些郵件要求。如果有任何疑問,您可以撥打公司與客服代表聯繫(請勿使用郵件中所提供的電話號碼,那可能也是假冒的)。
  2. 請勿在郵件中發送敏感信息,例如:您的社會安全號、或銀行信用卡信息。
  3. 如果您想要檢查或更新您的賬號信息,直接登陸公司網站。在網站瀏覽器中輸入地址,請勿點擊郵件中的鏈接。
  4. 每當您在網上傳送敏感數據時,請確保該網站是安全的,在您的網絡瀏覽器的右下角會顯示一個關閉的小鎖標,您也可以檢查一下,網址是否以https開頭, (注意“s”,其是“secure”(安全)的縮寫)。
    lock icon   Web address using h t t p s
  5. 如果您接受到可疑的郵件,可以發郵件到 Federal Trade Commission 或聯繫 Anti-Phishing Working Group進行投訴。

如果您覺得您已上當受騙,請勿心慌,需要立即採取以下措施:

  1. 檢查您的財務賬號,看看是否有人未經授權進入。
  2. 如果有人未經授權進入,需立即向相關的公司報告,例如:PayPal、eBay、信用卡發行商或銀行。
  3. 關閉您的賬戶,並開設一個新的賬戶。
  4. 如果您懷疑您的身份已被盜用,立即報警,並向諸如Equifax的信用局發送報告。

Phishing

What would you do if you received e-mail from your bank asking you to go to its website and update your account information? The message looks authentic – it's even got the bank's logo. If you're smart, don't do it! In all likelihood, this seemingly innocent request is really from a cyberthief looking to steal your personal financial information. This unscrupulous practice, known as phishing, is a high-tech way to lure you into revealing your bank accounts, passwords, credit card numbers, PIN codes and other sensitive data. Armed with this private information, your identity, and then your money, can be stolen.

Phishers target consumers by sending them e-mail messages from well-known companies such as PayPal, eBay, Citibank, and AOL that appear legitimate. Take a look at this message that we received:

Email with fake message from Paypal

 

Even though it resembles a message that could have been sent from PayPal, including the e-mail header, there's one crucial difference: The link doesn't go to Paypal's site. It links to a phony site controlled by criminals. Look at the web address highlighted below. It spoofs Paypal's address, but in reality, it has nothing to do with it.

Screen illustrating fake proported PayPal screen.

 

Once you enter the requested information – from credit card number to your driver's license and your mother's maiden name – they can access all your accounts. The same scam can be used with any financial site, no matter how real it looks.

 

Avoid the Phish Net

In the real world, you wouldn't reveal private financial information to anyone who asks, so don't do it online either. Here's how to avoid becoming a victim:

  1. DO NOT respond to these e-mail requests. If you have questions, call the company and talk to a customer service representative. (Don't use the phone number in the e-mail – it too could be fake).
  2. Never transmit sensitive information such as your social security number or bank and credit card information in an e-mail.
  3. If you want to check or update your account information, do it by going directly to the company website. Type the address into your web browser. Remember, DO NOT click on a link in an e-mail message.
  4. Whenever you transmit sensitive data online, make sure the website is secure, indicated by a closed lock icon on the bottom right hand corner of your web browser. And also check that the address begins with https (Notice the "s," short for "secure").
    lock icon   Web address using h t t p s
  5. If you receive a suspicious message, file a complaint by e-mailing the Federal Trade Commission or contacting the Anti-Phishing Working Group.

What to do if you think you’ve been a victim of phishing?  If you think you've been caught off-guard, don't feel embarrassed, but take action immediately by doing the following:

  1. Check your financial accounts to see if there's been unauthorized access.
  2. If there is unauthorized access, report it immediately to the company in question, such as PayPal, eBay, the credit card issuer or bank.
  3. Close your account and open a new one.
  4. If you suspect that your identity has been stolen, file a police report and make a report with credit bureaus like Equifax.