惡意軟件

Malware 一詞由短語“malicious software”合並而來,意為“惡毒軟件”。這些軟件試圖侵入您的計算機系統並在您未知或未允許的情況下給您的計算機系統帶來重大損害。它能記錄您的按鍵、盜竊您的密碼、觀察您的瀏覽選擇、生成彈出窗口、向您發送目的郵件、將您的網絡瀏覽器領到欺詐頁面、將您的個人信息匯報到遠程服務器上,並且提供色情信息。

最常見的惡意軟件有: Virus(病毒), Worms(蠕蟲病毒), Trojans(木馬病毒), Adware (廣告程序)和Spyware(間諜軟件)。 這些惡意軟件通常通過網絡進入您的電腦,但也可以通過郵件、即時短訊、光盤、CD及USB驅動傳播。

cartoon of sick computerViruses(病毒)

Viruses(病毒)是能夠在您的電腦上重新編寫現有密碼的惡意程序。比起傳統病毒, Virus更另人生厭,因為前者只是您先有密碼的變型,從而是您的電腦無法正常運行。

Trojans(木馬病毒)

木馬病毒是您系統上的添加程序。這些惡意軟件偽裝成郵件中的合法文件,欺騙您自願將它們添加到您的硬盤上去。木馬病毒依賴您為它們有意打開電腦。一旦您的電腦啟動,它們就會作為獨立程序秘密運行,盜走您的密碼或增加您系統的負擔。

Worms(蠕蟲病毒)

網絡蠕蟲,也是您電腦上不必要的添加程序。與木馬病毒不同的是,它們無需您的直接幫助而進行自我復制,自動進入到您的郵件中,然後未經您的允許自行復制。因為它們不需要使用者介入即可自我復制,所以這種病毒的複制速度非成常驚人。

Adware (廣告程序)和Spyware(間諜軟件)

Adware和Spyware(廣告程序和間諜軟件),是與木馬病毒、蠕蟲病毒和病毒相似的病毒,也“潛伏”在您的機器上。 Adware and Spyware(廣告程序和間諜軟件)可以觀察您的網絡習慣,然後用廣告攻擊您或通過秘密信息反饋給它們的主人。

保護您的電腦

知道這些病毒之間的區別並不重要,重要的是知道如何防範這些惡意侵襲。以下提供了5條必要的措施以幫助您的電腦免受侵襲。

  1. 安裝一個殺毒程序。現在最流行的兩個程序由McAfee和Symantec提供的。您可以在他們的網站上購買或下載家庭殺毒方案。兩者都定期更新處理最新殺毒軟件。
  2. 每月至少更新一次您的操作系統。 Windows用戶請訪問windowsupdate.microsoft.com,Mac用戶請遵守以下指導。
  3. 請勿點擊您對其來源並非100%確定的郵件附件。即使您對其來源非常肯定,打開之前也要先查毒。
  4. 請勿在未查毒之前打開任何通過即時短訊接收的文件,向欲傳文件給您的人核實文件來源。
  5. 請遠離點對點共享文件,例如:Napster, Limewire或Bit Torrent。這些網絡不通過共享服務器連接,所以它們發送惡意軟件的可能性更大。

Malware

Malware got its name from the term “malicious software.”

Malicious software is designed to make its way into your computer system and cause significant damage to it without your knowledge or consent. Malware will log your keystrokes, steal your passwords, observe your browsing choices, spawn pop-up windows, send you targeted email, redirect your web browser to phishing pages, report your personal information to distant servers, and serve up pornography.

The more common forms of Malware are Viruses, Worms, Trojans, Adware and Spyware. The most common way for these to make their way to your computer is via the web but can also be transferred through e-mail, instant massages, disks, CDs and USB drives.

cartoon of sick computerViruses

Viruses are malicious programs that rewrite existing computer code on your computer. Classic viruses are not so much unwanted additions to your system as they are mutations of existing code that makes your computer operate improperly.

Trojans

Trojans, or Trojan Horses, are additions to your system. These malicious programs masquerade as legitimate files in your email, deceiving you into willfully adding them to your hard drive. Trojans rely on you to intentionally open your computer to them. Once on your machine, Trojans function as independent programs that operate secretly, stealing your passwords or overloading your system.

Worms

Worms, or Internet Worms, are also unwanted additions to your system. Worms are different from Trojans because they copy themselves without your direct assistance and robotically worm their way into your email, and begin broadcasting copies of themselves without permission. Because they do not require user intervention to reproduce, worms reproduce at an alarming rate.

Adware and Spyware

Adware and Spyware are cousins to trojans, worms, and viruses. These programs "lurk" on your machine. Adware and spyware are designed to observe your Internet habits and then pummel you with advertising, or to report back to their owners via secret messages.

Steps to Protect Your Computer

While it’s not important to know the difference between each of these, it is important to know what steps to take to defend against these malware infections. Below are 5 necessary steps to protecting your computer from infection.

  1. Invest in an anti-virus program. The two most popular programs are from McAfee and Symantec. Both offer home solutions on their websites for purchase and download. Both also offer regular updates to handle newly discovered viruses.
  2. Update your Operating System at least once a month.
  3. Don't click on any email attachments from sources you are not 100% sure of. Even if you are confident in its source, scan it before opening it.
  4. Don't open any file or email attachment without scanning it first and verifying the sender intended it for you.