選擇安全的密碼

創建一個可靠的密碼將對保持您的電腦、郵箱、網上銀行賬戶和其它各種服務的安全非常重要。許多受密碼保護的網站都有密碼要求,例如:長度、使用數字、字母和符號。以下是關於如何創建一個安全可靠的密碼的幾點建議。

  1. 長密碼—6個字符尚可、10個字符優良、15個字符非常好。高級別的安全性確實需要15個字符,因為15個字符在微軟Windows系統中是一個特殊的數字。如果14個或少於14個字符,Windows密碼就被拼湊為“亂碼”(加密為不可見的亂碼符號),並儲存在隱藏的Windows系統文件中。天才的黑客很可能進入這些儲存的亂碼並且破密。但是,微軟的Windows系統不再儲存15個字符及更長的密碼。的確,僅是登陸您的賬戶就輸入15個字符是很麻煩,但是有些情況下是必要的。
  2. 用有意義的短語來開始設置密碼。然後添加一些數字和特別字符將密碼復雜化,以下就是一些方法:
    1. 選擇一個對您有意義的詞或多詞短語
    2. 混合一兩個大寫字母
    3. 將一兩個字母變成數字
    4. 添加一些怪異的符號:插入一兩個非字母字符。放在密碼的開始和結尾是最容易記憶的,例如: .(句號), !, *, %, &, or #.
    5. 以下有一些密碼實例。
  3. 每4個星期更換您的密碼。許多雇主非常重視保護他們的數據,並要求他們的員工定期更換密碼,最少每個月一次。如果您保存了一些私人的金融信息,您在家裡的電腦上也可以這麼操作。
  4. 請不要將您的密碼寫在紙上或存在儲存軟件中。請避免使用一些號稱讓您生活變得更簡單的密碼管理程序。如果您的電腦被黑,這些密碼程序無法給您的登陸信息提供足夠的保護。永遠不要將您的密碼記在一張紙上放在鍵盤下面或放在您的錢包裡,也不要將密碼存在您的個人數字處理器中。如果您必須儲存您的密碼,那就用一些暗號取代。例如,用“小狗的名稱、年齡和最喜歡的快餐”最為一個選擇來替代“Dexter2Cheese”。
  5. 對於不同的電腦賬戶使用不同的密碼。記得所有這些密碼會很困難,但您應該為您的郵箱、在線銀行、您的eBay和PayPal創建不同的密碼。如果一個密碼洩露了,至少其他賬戶沒有風險。

密碼強度舉例:

OK Password:    Better Password:    Excellent Password:   
kitty 1Kitty 1Kitty@
susan Susan53 .Susan53.
jellyfish jelly22fish Jelly22fish&
smellycat sm3llycat $Sm3llycat$
warcrafter warcrafter77 %Warcrafter77@
suzukirider suzuk1r1der =Suzuk1r1der=

Choosing a Good Password

It is important to create strong passwords to keep your computer, email, online banking accounts, and other services safe. Many password protected websites have password requirements, such as length and use of numbers, letters, and symbols. Here are some tips to creating a safe and secure password.

  1. Make your password long – 6 characters is OK, 10 characters is good, and 15 characters is excellent. 15 is really desirable for high-level security, because 15 is a special number in Microsoft Windows. At 14 characters and less, Windows passwords are scrambled as “hashes” (encrypted into unseen scrambled characters), and stored in hidden Windows system files. It is possible for a talented hacker to access those stored hashes and unscramble your passwords. However, MS Windows no longer stores hashed passwords at 15 characters and longer. Yes, it is annoying to type 15 characters just to log into your account, but some situations may merit the effort.
  2. Start designing the password with a memorable meaningful phrase.  Then make it complex by adding numbers and special characters. Here is how you do it:
    1. Pick a word or multi-word phrase that is meaningful to you.
    2. Mix one or two letters to be upper case.
    3. Then change one or two letters to be numbers.
    4. Then for the sneaky twist: insert one or two non-alphabetic characters. The beginning or end of the password is easiest for memorization purposes. Examples include: .(period), !, *, %, &, or #.
    5. Here are some password examples.
  3. Change your password every 4 weeks. Many employers who are serious about protecting their data will require their employees to change their password on a regular basis, once a month at minimum. It is a good practice to do the same on your home computer if you keep private financial information.
  4. Do not store your password on paper or with storage software. Please avoid password-keeper programs that claim to make your life easier. Password products do not offer enough protection for your login information should your computer get hacked. It is better to memorize a password whenever possible. Never keep your passwords on a piece of paper under the keyboard or in your wallet. Do not keep them in your PDA either; if you must store your passwords at all, keep the passwords’ hints instead. For example, as an alternative to storing “Dexter2Cheese” use “puppy’s name, age and favorite snack”.
  5. Use different passwords for your different computer accounts. As annoying as it is to remember them all, you should create a different password for your email, for your online banking, for your eBay and your PayPal. If one of your passwords is ever compromised, at least the rest of your accounts will not be at risk.

Examples of Password Strength

OK Password:    Better Password:    Excellent Password:   
kitty 1Kitty 1Kitty@
susan Susan53 .Susan53.
jellyfish jelly22fish Jelly22fish&
smellycat sm3llycat $Sm3llycat$
warcrafter warcrafter77 %Warcrafter77@
suzukirider suzuk1r1der =Suzuk1r1der=